When is a Building Permit Required?
WHEN IS A BUILDING PERMIT REQUIRED?
Section 105 of the Florida Building Code requires permits for most construction-related work. Various improvements of real property may not require a building permit. The work exempted must be performed in accordance with minimum code standards. The following table should help clarify the Building Department’s current permit requirements.
ITEMS NOT REQUIRING A PERMIT (RESIDENTIAL ONLY)
|A/C – Replace window unit, electrical outlet existing||Painting|
|Awnings 9 sq. feet or less||Pavers – sand set, not part of a pool/spa deck|
|Ceiling Fan – Replacement using existing outlet box and wiring||Pergolas/Arbors – 200 square feet and under and self supporting|
|Ceramic Tile – Replace on floor and wall (Non-Fire rated)||Playground equipment|
|Dishwasher – Replacement within a dwelling unit||Pool/spa – manufactured, less than 24 inches deep|
|Door – Exterior, repair under $1,000. Excluding garage door||Roof – Repair existing roof covering less than 100 square feet or under $1,000|
|Door – Replace any interior residential door within the individual unit||Sheds under 100 Sq. ft on 1 acre or less and 200 Sq. ft if on more than 1 acre|
|Concrete flatwork||Screening front entrance - Up to 100 sq. ft of screen|
|Drywall – Repairs under $1,000, excluding ceilings and exterior walls (Residential R3, Non-Fire Related)||Siding – Repair under $1,000|
|Faucet or water closet – Replace||Sink – Replace only|
|Fence – Repair or replace, except pool barrier New walls or fences 2’ or less||Soffit or Fascia – Repair under $1,000. Not including structural members|
|Gutter and Leaders||Stucco – Repair stucco finish|
|Kitchen cabinet replacement only, with no change in configuration of electrical or plumbing||Solar tubes without electric|
|Light Fixture, switch, outlet – Replace “like for like” in existing box||Window – Repair under $1,000|
|Low voltage wiring for residential||Wood deck – Repair of decking under $1,000, not including structural members, and, decks fewer than 100 square feet AND under 30 inches high.|
|Flag Poles under 12 feet tall||Water heater change outs if same type and same location|
This table is a concise guide to Sumter County Building Department Policies, Florida Statutes (489.103 9[a+b]), and the Florida Building Codes.